e-Governance logo e-Governance logo

Development Cooperation Scholarships for students from target countries

Estonia has systematically engaged in development cooperation since 1998. The experience obtained during that period and the developments in the international environment have created the need for the principles of development cooperation approved by the Riigikogu in 1999 to be renewed.

As an integral part of Estonian foreign policy, development cooperation is directed towards ensuring peace, democracy, the observance of human rights, economic and social stability and the eradication of poverty in the world in accordance with internationally approved principles of sustainable development. Estonia observes the UN Millennium Declaration adopted in 2000 and the principles for humanitarian and development aid established by international organizations, primarily by the UN, the OECD and the EU.

In spring 2014 Tallinn University of Technology signed an development cooperation agreement with Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs to develop the e-Governance Technologies and Services curricula further on and broaden the knowledge of students from target countries (Ukraine, Georgia, Palestine, Moldova, Brazil, and Kyrgyzstan). With the agreement all together 15 students from Ukraine, Georgia, Palestine and Moldova were enabled 400 € monthly fellowship until the graduation in 2016.

Development cooperation scholarships for the period 2015-2017 will be clarified and announced in March/April 2015. Therefore we truly encourage future students from countries that are listed as a target countries in regards of development assistance by OECD to keep an eye on the information provided in curricula´s home page and in the Facebook fan page. The candidates will be chosen based on the previous study results (Bachelor or higher degree in Public Administration, Economics, IT, Law or other related field), CV and Motivational Letter provided only via Dreamapply . The admission period starts in January 1 and ends April 15 2015.

Admission deadlines

  • 15 April 2015 is an application deadline for Non- EU students
  • 1 May 2015 is an application deadline for EU, Turkey, Georgia, Russia, Ukraine, Belarus and countries who do not need a visa to enter Estonia (USA, Canada, Australia, Japan, Brazil, Guatemala, Israel, Mexico, Macedonia, South-Korea)
  • 1 June 2015 the results of admission will be announced